Home / pages / WRS for AZ

Wilson Reading System® Level I Certification for the Arizona Literacy & Dyslexia Training.

This site is for the Arizona Department of Education to review Wilson Language Training’s response to the Arizona Literacy & Dyslexia Training Requirements RFI. Below you will find links to different sections of Wilson Language Training’s submission for Wilson Reading System® Level I Certification.

Wilson Reading System® Level I Certification meets the criteria for all three Components of Learning Opportunities:
• Instruction (I)
• Intensifying instruction (II) and Understanding and Recognizing Dyslexia (URD)

WRS Level I Certification is an IDA Accreditation Plus program and is designed to prepare teachers to effectively implement WRS Steps 1-6 with students who are reading and spelling below grade level, as well as those diagnosed with a language-based learning disability, such as dyslexia. WRS Level I Certification requires the completion of the WRS Introductory Course and two additional components: the WRS Intensive Instruction for the Non-Responsive Reader (Steps 1-6) online course and the WRS Steps 1-6 Practicum.

Vendor Worksheet

In this section, you will find a link to our completed Vendor Worksheet.

Vendor Worksheet for WRS Level I Certification

Components of Learning Opportunities

The hyperlinks in this section will lead reviewers to our responses to all three Components of Learning Opportunities. The linked documents provide our responses to the criteria and the evidence describing where each criterion is addressed in WRS Level I Certification.

Instruction (I)

Intensifying Instruction (II)

Understanding and Recognizing Dyslexia (URD)

Wilson Reading System® Level I Certification Materials

In this section, you will find a link to a site with select WRS Level I Certification materials used throughout certification training. These materials include presentation slides, handouts for workshop participants, and other print materials. A navigational tour video is also provided to guide reviewers through each of the materials and serves as a crosswalk to explain where evidence to the criteria in each of the components of learning opportunities can be found.

WRS Materials Navigational Tour (4:39) 

WRS Level I Certification Materials

Reviewers may access the Online Wilson Reading System Learning Community as well as the Intensive Instruction for the Non-Responsive Reader (Steps 1-6) online course and the WRS Steps 1-6 Practicum by going to the Wilson Academy log in page at www.wilsonacademy.com, and using the following credentials:

Username: ADE@wilsonlanguage.com

Password: WLTforAZ2022# 

Demonstration of Mastery

Each of the documents linked in this section will explain how participants will be asked to demonstrate mastery of content in each of the focus areas.

Demonstration of Mastery for Instruction (I)

Demonstration of Mastery for Intensifying Instruction (II)

Demonstration of Mastery for Understanding and Recognizing Dyslexia (URD)

Certification of Completion

Upon completion of WRS Level I Certification, participants will receive a certificate that states the title of the training, our company name, the name of the participant, the dates of the training, and the number of hours completed. A sample of this certificate can be found here.

Additionally, a WRS Level I Certified individual is eligible for the Wilson® Dyslexia Practitioner (W.D.P.) credential. This credential recognizes individuals as prepared to diagnostically teach students identified with a language‐based learning disability, such as dyslexia, at the beginning levels of encoding and reading. This W.D.P. credential is valid for five years and must be renewed every five years after successfully completing recredentialing activities and coursework. 

For any questions about this submission, please contact Cristina Urquhart at curquhart@wilsonlanguage.com.